Netflix and opendns are not friends – netflix support sucks.

For some reason I had not opted to let the Netflix app on my Android TV and one day with an Android update it decided it was going to be using 4.0.4 build 1716 instead.

Then Netflix would not be able to load any video with somewhat getting stuck at 25% with the lovely error of tvq-pm-100 3.1-52.

Life after work ended. The evening entertainment was ruined for ever and I was not the same again. The downwards spirals was inevitable.

I chatted with Netflix, spends hours on the phone going through the meaningless scripted troubleshoot – had I restart my TV box? Log off and back on? clear the cache? reset the appliance? nothing I was on the verge of video deprivation.

The most intriguing aspect was the competent Netflix staff would say: well as it is not us, it must your network provider. Yet not able to say what getting stuck at 25% could mean. Where are the good old logs telling what is going on when you need them?

I then read on a forum that the Netflix Android TV app would rely on Google DNS to geo-triangulate you and spy on you.

In order to protect my household I had opted long ago for opendns to block the doubleclick and other webspam of the universe without issues in the previous versions of Netflix.

In the end, changing the DNS setting on that Android TV to use Google’s infamous DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 to see Netflix videos loading at lightning speed and that very same Android TV box could again spy on me at will.

Thanks to Google’s sneakiness the end of the world was avoided.

Leave a Reply

